a precious confession

Buddy is a believer in Jesus Christ. That is a gift to his parents like no other. For some time now he has been expressing the desire to become a Christian, declaring his trust and love for Jesus, but because we wanted to be sure he was sure, we kept postponing “the prayer”. He was only four, after all.

After he brought up the issue again, the day before his fifth birthday, Papa and I decided it was time to encourage him to repent and accept God’s most amazing gift.

We emphasized to him that because he has faith he has already been saved, that Jesus already did the work on the cross and Buddy can do nothing to earn His mercy and grace. Also, prayer cannot save him ; Jesus saves him.

I read to Buddy from Ephesians 2, and then Papa led our little man to apologize for his sin and thank Jesus for dying on the cross to save him, and now he feels more peaceful knowing he has declared his faith.

Papa and I will now be looking into baptizing him, perhaps ourselves, as we believe baptism is part of declaring your faith in Jesus and following Him.

This is an exciting time for us, but we also want to be sure that what we teach our children and lead them to believe is biblical.

In case you are interested, two books we have found especially useful in teaching the Bible to our kids are The Child’s Story Bible by Catherine Vos, and Training Hearts, Teaching Minds by Starr Meade. The first is a perfect mix between making the Bible understandable and yet not watering it down, and the second is a family devotional based on the Westminster Shorter Catechism. Each takes about two years to work through, but we spend about 20 minutes each morning reading them together and not only are Buddy and Girlie learning from them, but so am I!

7 responses to “a precious confession

  1. Pingback: what is a catechism? ~ guest post by Chaz Reed | American Family Now

  2. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely helpful and it
    has aided me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & aid other customers like
    its aided me. Good job.

  3. Hi, I do think this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it ;) I’m going to come back yet again since I saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  4. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I have really enjoyed surfing around your weblog
    posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I’m hoping you write once more
    soon!

  5. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I
    will be waiting for your further write ups thank you
    once again.

  6. Hi there, just wanted to say, I loved this blog post. It was funny.
    Keep on posting!

  7. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did yoou download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out.

    Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks

Share your thoughts!

