How to make a weather chart for kids

The kids and I are on a weather kick. After we made the weather vane, the wheels started turning and I remembered an activity one of my first teachers came up with in elementary school.

It was a daily project that gave us opportunity to remember days of the week, observe weather patterns, and recognize how they apply to us.

Buddy and I made a similar weather chart complete with various weather symbols attached to Velcro. Every morning he looks out the window and then sticks the appropriate symbol on that day’s box on the chart.

To make your own, one sheet of poster board will do the trick, along with a couple of permanent markers, crayons, scissors, Velcro dots (2 for each day of one kind and enough of the other side to put on the back of the symbols), and tacks to hold it to the wall.

How have you been teaching your kids about weather? Have any project ideas or books you can recommend?

5 responses to “How to make a weather chart for kids

  1. I love this idea! It’s more visual than what I’ve been doing, but I’ll share…

    I started weather watching jars (http://familyfun.go.com/playtime/weather-watching-jars-706998/) with my 3-year-old. We tally up the pom poms every week, as opposed to every month. I use jelly jars, and have each one labeled with either Windy, Rainy, Sunny, or Cloudy and drew a little colored picture to correspond with that colored pom pom.

    I like the suggesting for graphing the results with older children.

  2. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice as you amend your site, how can i subscribe to get a blog site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I’m somewhat bit acquainted using this your broadcast provided bright clear idea I will be really impressed together with way with words-at all as well as with all the layout within your blog -. Are these claims a paid theme or does one customize it yourself? In any event sustain the nice quality writing, it’s rare to watch a
    nice blog exactly like it nowadays.. Pretty division of content.
    Freezing became alert to your website and accession capital to state
    we get actually enjoyed account your blog
    post site posts. However I’ll be registering to your augment or perhaps I achievement you access consistently quickly. My cousin recommended I will such as this web page. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cannot consider simply just how long Used to do spent on this info! Thanks! I tend not to be aware of exchanging websites wound up here, however i thought this informative article was good. I usually do not know what you’re but certainly you might
    be visiting a well known author just in case you
    usually are not already ;) Cheers! Heya i will be when just beginning here.
    I came across this board while i find that it’s really useful & it forced me to be out a whole lot. I am hoping to share one thing back and aid people for example you aided meWe had arrived suggested this blog – by my grandmother. I’m hesitant whether
    this article is produced by him as nobody else know such complete about my trouble.
    You might be amazing! Thanks!

  3. whoah this weblog is wonderful i enjoy reading your posts.
    Keep over the good paintings! You already know, many persons are hunting round to get this
    done info, you can help them greatly.

  4. I like the efforts you have thrown into this, enjoy
    it those great content.

Share your thoughts!

